Prof. Datin Paduka Khatijah Is One Of Six Recipients Of Anugerah Merdeka 2015 | SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES

Prof. Datin Paduka Khatijah is one of six recipients of Anugerah Merdeka 2015

Oleh Khairul Anuar Muhamad Noh

Foto oleh Hasrul Hamdan

KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 11 – Dean of Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences Faculty, Profesor Datin Paduka Dr. Khatijah Mohamad Yusoff has been picked as one of the country’s six excellent individuals to receive the  Anugerah Merdeka 2015.

She was chosen due to her vast and meaningful contributions in the field of virology and microbiology as well as diagnosis of infectious diseases that could lead to deaths in livestock and poultry and her research on the potential of virus in fighting cancerous cells.

The award was presented by Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah, the Sultan of Perak Darul Ridzuan who is also the Royal Patron of the Board of Trustees of Merdeka Trust Award at Menara 2 Petronas’s Philharmonic Hall here.

Anugerah Merdeka was initiated and started by PETRONAS, ExxonMobil and Shell in recognition of individuals’ outstanding and significant contributions in their respective fields to the country.

The UPM delegation who attended the function was led by UPM Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Dato’ Dr. Mohd Fauzi Ramlan; Prof. Datuk Dr. Mad Nasir Shamsuddin who is UPM Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic and International); Prof. Dato' Dr. Mohd Azmi Mohd Lila, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation) and Prof. Datin Paduka Dr. Aini Ideris who is the Director of the UPM’s Strategic Corporate and Communication Office.

Also present were founder of the Board of Trustees of Amanah Merdeka Award, Datuk Wan Zulkiflee Wan Ariffin who is also President and Chief Executive of Petronas Group, Mr See Kok Yew who is Subsidiary Chairman of ExxonMobil Malaysia and Iain Lo who is Shell Malaysia Chairman.

On Oct 1 at Menara 2 Petronas’ Kelab Petroleum Malaysia, Sultan Nazrin in his speech, praised the recipients for their contributions that had led to the establishment of a voluntary organization which is recognized globally, for the advancement of our  understanding on biological preservation, fighting for the sustainability of the environment at the international level; invention of a medicine to fight bird’s flu; making use of the green technology and supporting the wildlife preservation; and the development of cluttered land that had  aided the country in facing global challenges in the fields of environment, health, industry and social welfare.



Anugerah Merdeka 2015 Recipients:

1.  Research and Community: Tan Sri Dr Jemilah Mahmood
(for her excellent contribution in humanity development and international aid.

2.  Environment:
a.  Profesor Emeritus Dato' Dr. Abdul Latiff Mohamad (Joint Recipient)
(for his outstanding contribution in research and understanding on plant taxonomy    and biological preservation in Malaysia.)

b. Profesor Emeritus Tan Sri Dr. Zakri Abdul Hamid (Joint Recipient)
(for his outstanding contribution in the observation, analysis and assessment   of    biodiversity and ecosystem services, the promotion of environmental preservation and    protection and encouraging environmental sustainability in Malaysia and at the global level.)

3.  Health, Science and Technology: Profesor Datin Paduka Dr. Khatijah Mohamad Yusoff
(for her outstanding contribution in the field of microbiology and virology and diagnosis of infectious virus that could lead to fatalities in livestock and poultry and her research on the potential of virus in fighting cancerous cells.)

4.  Excellent Academic Achievement : Profesor Dr. Ir. Mohd Ali Hashim
(For his outstanding contribution in the research of water separation process and wastewater treatment and his important role in the establishment of Pusat Cecair Ionik (Ionic Liquid Centre).

5.  Outstanding Contributions to Malaysians: Dr. Elizabeth Lesley Bennett
(for her outstanding contribution in the preservation and protection of habitats in the wetlands and endangered species in Malaysia through research, advocacy and policy.) 

Further information can be obtained on the Anugerah Merdeka web site ( and Anugerah Merdeka Facebook.

Updated:: [hairul_nizam]


Universiti Putra Malaysia
43400 UPM Serdang
Selangor Darul Ehsan