Celebrating Students’ Ideas Through The UPM 2024 3 Minutes Thesis (3MT) Competition | SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES
» NEWS » Celebrating Students’ Ideas Through The UPM 2024 3 Minutes Thesis (3MT) Competition

Celebrating Students’ Ideas Through The UPM 2024 3 Minutes Thesis (3MT) Competition

March 26th 2024, SERDANG - The unshared idea is like a voice that remains unheard. The School of Graduate Studies (SPS), in collaboration with all faculties/schools/institutes at Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM), organized the 3 Minutes Thesis (3MT) competition.

Announcements for the registration of representatives from each faculty/school/institute were issued at the beginning of February to provide space and opportunities for PTJ to identify active and potential Doctor of Philosophy students as their representatives. The competition period at the faculty/institute/school level was from February 19 to March 19, 2024.

The overwhelming response this year can be seen through a 70% increase in participation, with a total of 38 participants from 13 departments. The University heats and final round were held on March 26, 2024, in person at the Faculty of Education Auditorium. Two (2) briefing sessions with graduate officers from PTJs and 3MT participants were conducted online on March 18 and 22, 2024.

A panel of three (3) judges for the university screening stage and four (4) judges for the final round were appointed for the program.

University Heats:

  1. Prof. Dr. Moniza Waheed (Head of Adjudicators)
  2. Dr. Normaz Wana Ismail
  3. Prof. Dr. Radhiah Shukri

University Finals:

  1. Gs. Dr. Abdul Rashid B. Mohamed Shariff (Head of Adjudicators)
  2. Mohamed Ibrahim Mohamed Tahir
  3. Aini Marina Ma’arof
  4. Thavamaran Kanesan (Guest Judge)

A total of 12 participants have successfully advanced to the final round, and below is the list of the four (4) winners who will represent UPM in the national level 3MT competition:

Champion : Yasmina Ahmad Uzhir (Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences)
1st Runner Up : Lee Li Xin (Faculty of Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences)
2nd Runner Up : Safura Adeela Sukiman (Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technology)
Peoples’ Choice Award : Abdipoor Sina (Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technology)

Congratulations and well done to the winners as well as all participants who successfully represented their respective departments with their research ideas. Special thanks also go to all responsible officers and departmental management who assisted throughout the implementation of the 3MT program this year.

Date of Input: 27/03/2024 | Updated: 13/05/2024 | aslamiah


Universiti Putra Malaysia
43400 UPM Serdang
Selangor Darul Ehsan
03-9769 4225